Bula Vinaka, MTC.

Hello!

I ‘m still in the MTC.  P-day feels great despite the fact that I’ve only been here three days.  By the way, my p-days are on Friday.

I’m one of two people in my district.  My companion, Sister Singleton from Kaysville, is the sister district leader, I’m the senior companion.  We’re currently enjoying the perks of being in a tiny group.  We were supposed to have more Fijian mission friends, but they are foreign and couldn’t get their visas.  Thankfully, we’ve got a great branch, with missionaries going to Tonga, Samoa, and the Marshall Islands.

Sorry, I plan on this being a short e-mail.  Not much has happened, and I can’t figure out how to load photos to the computer just yet.

Yesterday, I felt very confused after trying to learn words like “vakavinvinakataka” and “vakadinadina.”  I thought about French and how easy it had been for me to learn.  I figured that if I had been speaking French and not Fijian, they could have me out in the field by next week.  I decided I wanted to practice my French on other missionaries in their class.  Mistakenly, I assumed that the French missionaries had arrived there on Wednesday, just like I had.  I found an elder and launched into a traditional “Bonjour!” and basic conversation.  He must have been here quite a while because his responses were much smoother than expected and I forgot everything I knew.  I blushed, apologized and decided to stick with phrases like “au wasea na noqu i vakidinadina.”  The gift of tongues must be a real thing because his French was excellent.

I do really like Fijian though.  I’m glad I spent so much time learning the scriptures and lessons in my normal life because it makes focusing on the language much easier.  My departure date for Fiji is either the 26th of June or the 1st of July, and I can’t wait to go.  The MTC is run by great people, and they have great programs.  However, I want to be in Fiji, serving the people there and getting to know my real district, branch and companions.  The MTC is practice for the real thing.  For instance, We’re teaching our first “investigator” today, but we get to use notes.  The Polynesian sisters I’ve met so far are very sweet, genuine people, and I enjoy working with them.  Can’t wait for Fiji.

Our branch is very entertaining because we all speak different languages.  Kiribati, Tongan, Marshallese.  I don’t understand any of it, but it sounds lovely.

Oh, my companion and I are teaching the lesson today in Fijian.

I love and miss you all.

Sister Hawkins

Leave a Reply

