I vei Tailevu?

Bula,

Happy just past my four month mark!

Two experiences taught me the importance of teaching by the Spirit.  Here on the mission, we do lots of talking at people.  We have lessons, we express all our feelings.  I’ve learned two ways of talking with people instead.  Either speak according to the Spirit or ask an “inspired question”.  On Wednesday, I did both.  We were speaking with a less-active member.  The Spirit prompted me to express love and appreciation for her family that I didn’t know I had.  She had tears in her eyes as she smiled an expressed her thanks.  Apparently, she had been feeling lonely and prayed for visitors that day.  After that, we went to teach one of our recent converts.  He’s been refusing to read the Book of Mormon for a while, so we spent some time reprimanding him.  I felt the need to ask one question instead, “Why do you think we ask you to read the Book of Mormon?”  He didn’t know, so I explained that it’s a commandment, with promised blessings.  (We receive answers from God through the scriptures, etc.  I made it very clear that we’re not just there because we enjoy telling him what to do.)  His eyes lit up, and I could tell that he finally felt and understood why we want him to read.

I’m feeling very comfortable with my area, so I’m probably going to get transferred soon.  We participate in ward activities, rescue night, ward fun night, family home evenings.  My companion and I have a lot of support from the members here.  We went and did visiting with the Relief Society Presidency and those lessons almost taught themselves.  While on splits one afternoon, the member I was teaching with suggested that we go purchase a “cup of joy”.  I spent some time trying to figure out what that was, but soon found out that it’s an ice cream cone the size of my fist holding a scoop of ice cream about the size of my face.  We bought two on our way back to my companion and ate all of the passion fruit flavored goodness in record time.

Fun fact:  Missionaries get super excited about little things.  Transfer week, general conference, dinners with the members, zone training meetings.  I especially like bus trips because there’s always funky calypso music playing in the background and there are no windows.

Please, do tell if you know where Tailevu is.  We’ve been trying to find it for a while, and we’ve heard that it’s a region or a village.  Maybe it’s both?

Loloma Yani!

Sister Hawkins

(Turns out I was living in Tailevu).

One thought on “I vei Tailevu?

Leave a Reply

