Na Noqu Inaki.

Bula,

For Halloween, I was dressed as a sister missionary, and I ate some ice cream in celebration.

There’s a lot of Fijians serving in the Philippines, so they probably are very similar.  There’s also a ton of missionaries there.  The people are number one on the list of the world’s friendliest people.  Fijians also make that list.  {We have a new sister missionary in our ward from the Philippines, Sister Duran.  We had her and her companion, Sister Breck, over at our house for pumpkin pie, after the ward Halloween party.}

I did, indeed play piano for Stake Conference.  It went very well, and I got to play with the stake primary choir.

I got the package.  I needed it too.  I’ve been listening to the music all week.  We finished the chocolate that day, but it helped that you told me you took the chocolate out.  When the elders checked the label and it said there was chocolate, they wanted me to open the box and share.  I told them the label was wrong, and they handed the box over.  {I was trying to make weight.  I took out a bunch of chocolate, but I still sent a little bit.  She misunderstood me.}  Then, my comp. and I were very happy to find out we were wrong.  I gave half the post-it notes to my companion, and I’m using the bookmarks.  I enjoyed the card.  The pictures are nice to show to people.

I read the journal from Grandma Hawkins the day that I got it.  Hawaii is a very friendly, laid back place.  I read Jacob Hamblin’s history as well, as fast as I could.  My mission is interesting because it is a mixture of the two.  I’m working with the temple open house, piano playing, and general church-centered service.  I’ve received many a warm welcome from the people here.  I’m also setting a general example of Arizona sisters for both the missionaries and the members.  Grandma Hawkins and Jacob Hamblin are exceptional examples of faith, and I hope they’re happy with the work I do.  I’m very grateful for the work they did, and if I could do even a portion of the good that Jacob Hamblin did, I’d be honored.  Their stories gave me a great deal of encouragement, and I know that I can do this.  I just hope and pray I’ll do what I was sent here to do.

Thankfully, my companion says she discovered what I’m here to do …  Every single service for the past month or so, we’ve cleaned houses.  Every time, I’ve been given the same job.  I’ve cleaned ceilings.  So, our last service, she went ahead and said it, “The Lord sent you to Fiji for you to clean all their ceilings,” with a great big smile on her face.  Maybe, she’s right.  One of the sisters even complimented my ceiling cleaning abilities (in Hindi, so I had to get the general gist from her motioning at my height, waving her arm back and forth up in the air, followed by a smile and two thumbs up).

Our ward mission leader passed away this week.  I’ll be playing the piano for his funeral this week, and we went and cleaned their house last Thursday.  He was a great man, and we miss him.

The sisters are all excited for the temple open house, but we’re trying to figure out what we’re going to do about clothes.  Don’t be too worried, we can get dresses here for two dollars.  I’m probably going shopping sometime in January.  Boiling the clothes, spin washing them, and then hanging them out to dry has been hard on the fabric, and I don’t want to look like I just crawled out of the bush for a temple open-house.

Transfers this week.  We are hoping nothing happens.

Love,

Sister Hawkins

Leave a Reply

